1 reads
Leave a comment
32nd Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards - Show

Source: Earl Gibson III / Getty

The 32nd Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards made big winners out of some of our favorites! Tamela Mann and Travis Greene topped of the night with six awards each, Greene edging Mann out slightly – if you count Annie Stoll’s design work for The Hill cd which won a Stellar for Recorded Music Packaging of the Year. That would make Greene’s tally seven awards. Briana Babineaux picked up her first Stellar as Best New Artist. She also won the Contemporary Female Vocalist crown.  The Chicago Mass Choir also wrangled it’s first Stellar for Traditional Choir of the Year and Myron Butler nabbed three awards for Contemporary Group/Duo Of The Year, Group Duo of the Year and Producer of the Year for his work on Tamela Mann’s One Way.

Special honors were bestowed on three gospel music trailblazers. Spencer Taylor Jr. of the Highway QCs received the James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award, Harvey Watkins Jr. of the Canton Spirituals received the Thomas A. Dorsey Most Notable Achievement Award, and the Reverend Dr. Clay Evans received the Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legend Award.

Stellar Honors Hall of Fame inductees this year included , Dr. Leonard S. Scott – Founder Tyscot Records,  Fred Hammond, The Mississippi Mass Choir, and BMI’s Catherine Brewton.

Full listing of winners here!

Also On Praise 100.9:
Stellar Awards 2017 Red Carpet Photos
39 photos
comments – add yours