Praise Charlotte App Graphics
Praise 100.9 Featured Video


The Iowa producer of shell eggs linked to hundreds of illnesses in a massive salmonella outbreak has expanded its recall to include eggs sent to 17 states, federal health officials said Thursday.

Wright County Egg of Galt, Iowa, now says the potentially tainted eggs were distributed to wholesalers, distribution centers and food service companies in California, Arizona, Missouri, Minnesota, Texas, Georgia, Washington, Oregon, Colorado, Nevada, Iowa, Illinois, Utah, Nebraska, Arkansas, Wisconsin and Oklahoma.

At least 380 million eggs have been implicated in the outbreak, which is confirmed to have sickened people in four states and is suspected in several more.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is working with state health departments to investigate the illnesses. No deaths have been reported, said Dr. Christopher Braden, a CDC epidemiologist involved in the investigation.

Initially, 228 million eggs, or the equivalent of 19 million dozen-egg cartons, were recalled by the company Wright County Egg of Galt, Iowa. But that number was increased to nearly 32 million dozen-egg cartons.

Other states have seen a jump in reports of the type of salmonella. For example, California has reported 266 illnesses since June and believes many are related to the eggs. Colorado saw 28 cases in June and July, about four times the usual number. Spikes or clusters of suspicious cases have also been reported in Arizona, Illinois, Nevada, North Carolina, Texas and Wisconsin.