Praise Charlotte App Graphics
Praise 100.9 Featured Video

Celebrating Daryl Coley and Richard Smallwood


Tamela Mann; BMI Executive Director, Writer/Publisher Relations Wardell Malloy; 2014 Most Performed Gospel Song of the Year

Writer Kirk Franklin; BMI CEO Mike O’Neill; and BMI Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations Catherine Brewton

Tamela Mann, Kirk Franklin, Jason Nelson and Anaysha Figueroa

BMI’s Wardell Malloy and Del Bryant honor Daryl Coley at the 15th Annual BMI Trailblazers of Gospel Music Awards

Luncheon, held January 17 in Nashville.

Broadcast Music, Inc.® (BMI®), the global leader in music rights management, brought legends and contemporary stars together to celebrate the careers of gospel giants Daryl Coley and Richard Smallwood at its 15th annual Trailblazers of Gospel Music Awards Luncheon in Nashville.

In addition, the event, held at Rocketown, also recognized BMI’s Most-Performed Gospel Song of the Year: “Take Me to the King,” written by Kirk Franklin and performed by Tamela Mann. The song, pulled from the Tamela’s #1 album Best Days, topped the Billboard gospel chart and achieved crossover success. To help celebrate this astounding achievement, BMI presented Franklin with a video tribute highlighting some of his most precious moments at past Trailblazers luncheons.

Donnie McClurkin and Erica Campbell (Mary Mary) hosted the luncheon, along with Del Bryant, BMI President and Catherine Brewton, BMI Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations, Atlanta.

Musical tributes began with an awe-inspiring nod to Daryl Coley, featuring Zacardi Cortez (“Jesus Saves”), Tasha Page-Lockhart (“He’s Preparing Me”), Earnest Pugh (“More Like Jesus”), Floyd Wilkinson (“II Chronicles”), Beverly Crawford (“Can’t Tell It All”) and Jason Nelson (“Sovereign”). Serving as the event’s triumphant finale, the charismatic songs of Richard Smallwood were then celebrated with dynamic performances by Yolanda Adams (“ Total Praise”/“I Love The Lord”), Anaysha Figueroa-Cooper and Timiney Figueroa (“Angel Watching Over Me”), Y’Anna Crawley (“He Won’t Leave You”), Dorinda Clark Cole (“What He’s Done For Me”), Donnie McClurkin (“Jesus Lover of My Soul”/“Center of My Joy”) and Marvin Sapp (“Healing”).

Courtesy of

BMI Delivers Strong Musical Tributes for Trailblazers  was originally published on