If you’re like me, this week you’ve gotten a zillion messages on Facebook saying something like ‘Hi….I actually got another friend request from you yesterday…which I ignored so you may want to check your account,’ then urging users toforward it to all their friends. The message is a hoax and has a lot of users worried about their accounts being cloned or hacked.
Facebook offers the following information on how to tell if your account has actually been hacked:
Facebook says to watch out if you notice any of the following:
Your email or password have changed
Your name or birthday have changed
Friend requests have been sent to people you don’t know
Messages have been sent that you didn’t write
Posts have been made that you didn’t create
You can also see which devices are currently using your account (and where they are), by going to Settings > Security and Login and checking ‘Where You’re Logged In’.
In this menu, you can flag devices as ‘Not You’. and also manually log them out.